If you had been a fugitive slave

fugitive-slave-act-AB

Imagine you are a fugitive slave. Tell about your escape from the South. Why did you decide to flee? How did you travel? How did you find your way? How did you survive? How did you feel?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Mrs. Ngai. Bookmark the permalink.

About Mrs. Ngai

My name is Mrs. Ngai and I am currently a 5th grade teacher in the Math, Science, Technology Magnet at Montara Elementary School. I love using technology in the classroom and am really excited about using this blog with my students! In addition to technology, I also love chocolate, traveling, learning new languages, and trying new food from many different cultures!

10 thoughts on “If you had been a fugitive slave

  1. My escape was horrible because I had to trick them that I need to go to the store.And then I went and they said were I was and then they tried to get me.I felt so sad because I had to lie to the people.And that is how I was a slave. That was the worst thing I had to do.:) :):):):):) :):):)

  2. I decided to flee slavery because I was doing hard work for absolutely nothing. In other words, I didn’t get paid at all. No money, no food, not even a pat on the back(which would still probably be too little)!!! As soon as I left, I traveled by running as fast as I could until I felt pretty safe. I usually traveled by foot the whole way. I eventually found my way because I lived closer to the North than you’d expect. I survived only because I had stolen my master’s knife because I knew I would need it. Fortunately, there were many, many pigs along the way, so that meant plenty of food. And finally, to tell you the truth, I felt horrified the whole way there.

  3. My escape was horrible I had to steal a gun and a knife untill I finally escaped and took the masters horse and some of the food for the way.I was excited to escape and a new life.Unfortunatly, the whole escape I felt happy to start a new life.😃😀😄😊

  4. I decided to run away was because it is had to be a slave, and you get treated like a pet. I would run and run and never look back, and probably have a safe place to stay for the night and then…keep on running!!!! I

  5. My escape would have been horrible because. I’d had to work on the most easyest place to catch me so what I would do. Is go at night pretend to use the restroom. and what i would do is RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUN I ran like the speed of cell even sonic couldn’t keep up with me. SO after I had to knock out a white man so he doesn’t see me. and then I took a boat to Canada and I arrived to Canada. (THIS IS NOT A TRUE STORY) 😀 enjoy.

  6. I felt really scared and mad 1 mad because of slavery had to happen. 2 I was scared I had to risk my life trying to leave the south

  7. My escape was terrible, I needed to steal some food and blankets and I had to steal my master’s horse. So it was late and dark and I was getting ready to flee, so I sneaked out and followed the North Star. I was terrified because I was risking my life, but luckily I made it to the North I was so happy to start a new life.

  8. Sorry I put enter….. So like I was saying I would survive by getting my masters knife of something sharp!!!! Because I would really need it. Before I escape I would feel really, really sad and hopeless, but after I did escape I would fell… happy and that I could have a new life to start over!!!!!!! And yes I did escape just because of how smart I am… and that I got the knife and the people how helped me.

  9. My name is Corki . I was born a slave and was separated from my family. This is the story of when I escaped the south. I decided to flee because I missed my family.I traveled by following the north star to be sure I was heading north. I survived by grabbing food wherever I could find it. I felt alive for the first time in my entire life. 👍✌ 🙂 :)) (☆^ー^☆)

  10. My name is Amelia. I was captured from the North when I was 15; I was the only family member to get captured. This is my slave story I had been mistreated constantly by my master, so I decided to flee. The underground railroad lead me to the North. The only reason I survived was the houses I hid in gave me food, water, shelter, and health. I never felt more free my entire life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *