“Our tears were unshed”

navajo_girl

The author writes, “We turned our eyes away from them and set our faces.  Our tears were unshed.”  What is the author trying to show the reader?  What can you infer?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Mrs. Ngai. Bookmark the permalink.

About Mrs. Ngai

My name is Mrs. Ngai and I am currently a 5th grade teacher in the Math, Science, Technology Magnet at Montara Elementary School. I love using technology in the classroom and am really excited about using this blog with my students! In addition to technology, I also love chocolate, traveling, learning new languages, and trying new food from many different cultures!

12 thoughts on ““Our tears were unshed”

  1. I think that the Author said that because he wants use to get hooked in.Another reason is because they wants use to tell use why did they turned our eyes away from them and set our faces.I think they did that to say in their minds I am mad at you.Another thing is that they want to tell them you are not my friend or something or not be there best friend any more.

  2. I think he’s trying to infer that their crying inside but in the outside there trying to hold it in and not have tears falling from their cheek.That’s what I infer.

  3. I say that the author mean by OUR TEARS WERE UNSHED and “WE TURNED OUR EYES AWAY FROM THEM AND SET OUR FACES. Mean that they tried there best to not show weakness or else the spainairds can do other things to them bad things. I don’t know since it didn’t happen. The Author can just be saying that they’re trying to do the best job of not showing tears to them because they may just be trying to hide it like I said before but….. if the spainairds see that there getting very scared of them they might keep it up. Plus the spainairds are really mean because they threaten them a lot and telling them to leave. D:

  4. The author is trying to show the reader that they are brave and that there going to get them back. I can infer that they should because they shouldn’t have done that. Also that if they did that they should get back at them they will be even. The author is trying to show that they can be brave not to cry. So thats what I think about it.

  5. I think the the author was trying to show use that they don’t want to show that they are crying because they don’t want to be tough in front of their children to teach them not to cry and to never give when your in the middle of something. I think thats what the author is trying to show the reader.

  6. I can infer that the author was trying to tell the readers that while the tribe was looking at their ruined village that they didn’t cry because they knew that if they cried the Long Knives will think that they can overtake them.So that is why they didn’t cry because they want to show the Long Knives that they can do anything to them,it doesn’t matter because the tribe will stay strong no matter what you do.That tells me that they are a very strong tribe and that they will stick together no matter what.

  7. i think that of the aththur was that THE ARTHUR he whants to tell use about soothing of the arthur of the the story in the place from the arthur.

  8. I think the author is trying to said that it really hard to see and everything they see they start to cry and then they will start crying if they see someone crying and it so hard

  9. I think I means that what ever they do to them there not going to show there terers there just going to keep there heads up high.

  10. The author must be telling the reader that the Navaho tribe will not be sad and show weakness.
    So I will not be defeated.

  11. I think the author tried to tell us that they didn’t want to cry. I think that they already been through a lot so they don’t want to cry when they can rebuild it all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *