Forced to Move

Navajos at Bosque Redondo 1863-1868

Do you think the government should have a right to take land away from a group of people even if they have been living there for hundreds of years?  How would you feel if you were kicked off your land and made to move somewhere unknown?  What would you do to resist or fight back?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Mrs. Ngai. Bookmark the permalink.

About Mrs. Ngai

My name is Mrs. Ngai and I am currently a 5th grade teacher in the Math, Science, Technology Magnet at Montara Elementary School. I love using technology in the classroom and am really excited about using this blog with my students! In addition to technology, I also love chocolate, traveling, learning new languages, and trying new food from many different cultures!

26 thoughts on “Forced to Move

  1. No its there land they can’t just take the land away if they’ve been living there.I would feel sad and also mad they can’t tell other people what t5o do its there life.I will try to fight them because its there body, there life and it should stay that way!!!

  2. I think that the government shouldn’t take away their land because thats their home and nobody should not be kicked out of their only home.But if I was kicked out I will be afraid of the place I will have to go because I never been to that place and I don’t know anybody.I will be brave and tell them I won’t go from my village and I want to stay here and I will run away from there.

  3. No! THE GOVERNMENT can’t just through the Native Americans off their homes. they have lived there for thousands of years. Its just cruel to kick them off their own land…..
    SO if i was kicked off my own land i would get mad and sad missing my tribe me people my friend family land. I would avenge my people one day one day >:D Hm ok its just so so cruel to us Indians.You guys just mess us up u could of just tried to find land somewhere else think of the children. 🙁 Of course our tribe would want to fight back.But its to dangerous they have guns and could cause a lots of deaths witch we wouldn’t like so I think it’s wrong plus it was hard for the tribes who got kicked.

  4. No i don’t think the government should not have the right to take a group of people land away. Because if you were a group of people and you have live their for hundreds of years you should have the right to live their. And it would be sad to just leave for no reason and go somewhere you don’t know. I would not like it and i would be scared and angry if i had to do that. And i would tell them that were is my group going to go and live.I would maybe run and tell them that i don’t want to go or i would fight back. And if that docent work then………i am just going to let them take me but at least i know i did my best.

  5. I think they should not have the right to vote because its their property . And that group has lived there since they were small. So it would not be fare to me. I would be mad if they kicked me off my land. Because its my land and I have the rights to move if I would want to.And they have to respect that. also because its part of me i lived their since I was small. how i would resist or fight I would resist I would just try to stay calm and be nice to them . But if i think something is unfair I would try to fight for my land. And make them not take away my land because its ours. and we will keep it.

  6. I don’t think that the government has any right to kick people off their land if they’ve been living there for hundreds of years so it will be very hard for people to adapt to their new home if they’ve been kicked off their land. 🙂

    If they kicked me off my land I think it would’ve been pretty hard to adapt to my new home and land. I think that I would’ve been very sad because well I am going somewhere unknown and I won’t know what to do.

    What I would do is either just try to escape or just be calm and think of a way out or i just will use the fighting skills that I know so I will be able to fight them and escape. But I think i’ll just stick with the second plan because if I did plan 3 i would get killed because they have guns . And if i did plan 1 i would get caught very easily. So if I do plan 2 I could get to know the place and know where all the exits are so i could just use those and say I’m going to do work outside when i am actually trying to escape. 😉

  7. 1. I don’t think that’s fare that the government has the power to kick out any body he want’s because indians have been living here for hundreds of years. So they should have that power.2. If i was getting kicked of my land and move to another place i don’t know i would do my best to get our land back.3. I would convince them to all fight back and we would fight to death.

  8. No! THE GOVERNMENT can’t just through the Native Americans off their homes. they have lived there for thousands of years. Its just cruel to kick them off their own land…..
    SO if i was kicked off my own land i would get mad and sad missing my tribe me people my friend family land. I would avenge my people one day one day >:D Hm ok its just so so cruel to us Indians.You guys just mess us up u could of just tried to find land somewhere else think of the children. 🙁 Of course our tribe would want to fight back.But its to dangerous they have guns and could cause a lots of deaths witch we wouldn’t like so I think it’s wrong plus it was hard for the tribes who got kicked. There was over 200 indians dead

  9. I think the government shouldn’t do that because sometimes the government or sum one mit get heat . if they kicked me out of my land I will fell so mad . the thing I will do is fightback to we could all get or land back .

  10. I think it is not right for the government to kick people off their land because they might have been living there for hundreds or thousands of years.So NO I think it is not right for the government to kick a group of people out of their homes, and be forced to be sent to other towns that are in no god conditions.If it was me being kicked of my land i would be upset and mad because i have been living there ever since I was little,then having to leave and go to another place i don’t know about is upsetting.Then I would think the government is going to do something about it then later on when I find out the government will kick us off our land even though we have been living there for a long time I would be absolutely mad.what I would do to fight back is refuse to gout if they still take my family away then I will come up with a plan to escape from wherever they take us.

  11. I think the government shouldn’t do that and at the same time he should because he the boss and at the sometime he shouldn’t because the people really care about the place that they grow up and how they made there only family and now there kicking out of they home and i think that the mom and daddys are saiding why are there kicking us out of our land and how our children are going to grow up

    If they kick me out of my home i will be mad because we haven’t did nothing bad to make them kick us out

  12. I think the Government should not have the right to take away a land from a group of people because they were there first and lived there longer and it would be a struggle for the poor little kids living there.If I was kicked off my land I would be very angry and I would tell the people living in the land to help me fight against them and steal there land see how they like it and if they fight back so will we and we will get people from there land and use them as slaves and last but not least steal there land and then we would be even.I would fight back like I just said because all of are hard work for nothing.

  13. I think they don’t have the right to take us of are land.Because we lived there for lots of years.And were use to the land that we live in and if that kicked us out we will not be use to the other land.I would fight because its are land.

  14. I think the government does not have the right to kick people out of their land because if they were there first then they should be able to keep it.If i where kicked out of my land I would feel furious because they took my land and i was there first and if they were to move me to some where else then i would find a way to get back to my land.I would fight just to get my land back.I would send letters to the government,Or i would even start a war just to get my land back.

  15. 1.NO because if you lived there for years and years they don’t have the right to move you some where else. 2.I would feel mad because they don’t have the right to do that because I’m a citizen of the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and I will try to find my way home and sneak in. 3. I WOULD FIGHT TO THE DEATH TILL THEY LET ME GO BACK IN TO THE USA AND THENGO BACK HOME.

  16. I think that the should do that because they live there a hundreds of years.Also it is not fair because they were there first and they and have build their houses and they just destroy every thing.If I was kick of my land I would be very mad because I was kick of for know reason.It will be so mean if they kick you of your land and move you some where else .I would fight back to them because it was our land so I will try to get back.

  17. I don’t think that the government should have the wright to kick some body out of there land because they have lived there for hundreds of years. Because they have worked so hard for years. They have worked so hard for the government to come and kick them out of there land. Then put them in a place that nearly has food. And the soil is no good fore growing crops ,and food. they still burn there houses.Thats just not wright. And still have so many people die on the way. I would feel very mad. I would try to do things the calm way so that we can prevent as many people from ding as possible. From war or starvation,and sickness.

  18. I think that it is unfair to force people to move because they also have a life and it would be rude,unkind, and disrespectful to move someone you don’t even know, and just send them to a different environment that they have never been to.They could even die because they are not used to the weather and maybe there wasn’t good enough soil to plant their crops.If someone kicked me off of my land, I would stand in front of their house and stare at them forever until they got creeped out and left the house.And if that didn’t work, I would go with plan B and fight back to get my land back!

  19. the government should not have the right to kick people off there land .because they have been living there for hundreds of years.they have to live in that land because were else are they going to live.I would feel really sad because i would miss my house and my friends.I would also miss the land and animals.I would fight back and say thats are land .and if they take the land anyway i would try to resist.

  20. I think the government has no right to take away land from a group of people that has lived their longer.If the Government kicked me out of my land resist because if i have lived there longer than probably his own family generation, so he doesn’t deserve to kick off my own loving land. What I would do if he even dares to kick me off my land i would tell all my people to fight back.

  21. I think the government shouldn’t have the right to take their land because they have their families right there. Also because they have their tribe and their home and I think the government doesn’t have the right to take their land. Also that the government shouldn’t take lands because what if the government takes the land and the people who live there where are they going to live if the government takes there land. I would feel really angry because it s my land and the government doesn’t have the right to take my land. I would also be sad because I will have to leave my home. Also because if they take my land where am I going to live. What i would do to resist or to fight back is just go and complain that I want my land back because of my family. Also I would just find another land they will see how I feel. Also if that doesn’t work I’ll just beg them if I can have my land back. I would be really mad if they kicked me out and I will never talk to them ever again because my tribe was there.

  22. I think that the government should not move them.Because they got use to were they were living before.If I were kicked out I would say I were here for a long time. And you want to kick me out but I am not living.I would gather up with the people they kick out.And then I will fight back the the people that kicked me out of my hundreds of years house and if I get it back I will be so happy.And I will say I will tell them” I GOT MY HOUSE BACK.”

  23. I don’t think think the government should have the right take a group away even if they lived their for a hundreds of years. The reason for that is because they have lived their for hundred of year!
    The government is very cruel to be doing that because that is their home and it was probably very important to them. Another reason is that was where they have lived their whole life.
    I would feel very angry if they kicked me off my land and send me to unknown area. I would feel scared because I would probably be plot up from my family. I would be worried because I don’t know what’s going to happen to me.
    I would fight back but it would’ve been difficult because they would have had guns and we just have arrows. I would probably try to fight anyways. I will have hope that we can overcome this.

  24. I think the government shouldn’t have right to kick people off their land because it’s their home.Also, the government should be nicer to them instead burning other peoples land so, thats why I think that the government shouldn’t have the right to do that

    . If i was kicked off my land I would be super mad and protest and say ”
    YOU CANT KICK US OFF OUR LAND THIS IS OUR LAND WE’VE BEEN LEAVING HERE FOR MORE THAN ONE HUNDRED YEARS,AND WE ARE GOING TO STAY HERE AND NOT LISTEN TO YOU :p.”

    What I would to fight back is to back thats if they don’t listen and say something else.

  25. No, I think the government does not have the right to take someones land away.They have been living there for hundreds of years and all of a sudden their going to take your land away . It just doesn’t seem right to take their land away how would you like it if we took your land away and you’ve been living there for a long time.
    if I was kicked off my land I would be super super mad.Not to amagen to go some where unknown I would be scard because I don’t know where I’m going and who know what would happen.Any way why do they even need to move us we aren’t causing any problems.
    I would defend myself and fight with all I got.I would kick,bit, yell, and” say why are yo doing this.”

  26. I think the Government shouldn’t have the right to move people from their land because what harm did the group do.plus if the group did not do any thing to u y would the government want to take their land if they have been there for over 100s of years.i wonder how would the Government feel if they took his land away because i know i would feel super mad wouldn’t u.if i were to move to a place that i didn’t know, i would freak out because i would not know any body. plus we were going to be slaves so i would be even more mad because they took my land.what i would do is get along and after when they trust me and leave me by myself i will run away.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *